July: National Ice Cream Month: Chocolate Hazelnut Chip Ice Cream

I never realized there was a whole month dedicated to ice cream until last year, and it was too late. Raegan declared July as National Ice Cream Month, the third Saturday National Ice Cream Day, and encouraged people to celebrate “with appropriate ceremonies and activities”. I really can’t believe I didn’t know. I was almost one year old when this declaration was made in 1984, so I’ve had a lot of time to find out. Anyways, to make up those lost years, I thought I’d try and make as much ice cream as possible during the month of July. My Kitchen Aid is going to get her workout (and I’ll be working out extra too with all this ice cream in the house).

First up is Chocolate Hazelnut Stracciatella (Chip) Ice Cream

Michael picked this for his birthday. We were in Texas/Belize on his birthday so I didn’t make him a cake. Instead when we got back he asked if I’d make some ice cream instead. And then we celebrated our anniversary, studied for ARE exams, bought some hazelnuts (so expensive), and finally got around to making it about one month after his birthday. Strike One. Sorry love! Lebovits calls this one Gianduja. I call it Chocolate Hazelnut with chocolate chips. Michael calls is Gelato alla Nocciolo. Really everyone should just stop trying to pronounce all of these words and eat some. It’s good and thick and creamy. I asked Michael why he picked this one. He said he couldn’t request chocolate chocolate chip again and needed to change things up a bit so adding nuts was key. I love this guy.

I tend to split ice cream making into a two day process. One day for custard making; one day for churning and freezing. It takes about 9 hours (including chilling and freezing) to make ice cream. I made this custard on a Sunday night and unfortunately Michael was daydreaming about eating ice cream all day Monday, only to find out I hadn’t churned it yet. Strike two. So We churned it Monday night and taste tested the bowl. It was yummy.

In honor of Ice Cream Month, I’m going to try and make as many ice creams as possible. Wish me luck. I’m also going to try and not gain 30lbs this month, so please come over and eat some Ice Cream. I’m sure there will be a hearty supply in the freezer.

Chocolate Hazelnut Stracciatella (Chip) Ice Cream
adapted slightly from The Perfect Scoop, David Lebovitz

  • 1 C 2% milk
  • 1/2 C + 2T sugar
  • 2 C heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 C hazelnuts, toasted and ground
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 4 oz milk chocolate, melted
  • 3 oz dark chocolate, melted

Melt 4 oz of milk chocolate in a large bowl and set aside with a fine mesh strainer on top. In a medium saucepan, heat the milk, one cup of cream and sugar until hot to the touch. Add hazelnuts and cover. Let the milk steep for one hour. In a separate bowl, whisk egg yolks. Strain the hazelnuts from the milk and put the saucepan and infused milk mix on medium heat. Once heated, temper the eggs by pouring the hot milk in a tiny steady stream into the eggs while whisking constantly. Do this slowly or you will cook and curdle the eggs. Pour the eggy milk back into the saucepan and cook on medium heat until the custard coats the back of a spoon (your finger will make a clear line to separate the cream on the spoon). Pour this through the strainer into the melted chocolate and stir in an ice bath until cool. Cover and chill for four hours minimim. Churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

To make the chocolate chips: heat the remaining 3oz dark chocolate until melted. When your ice cream is almost finished churning, pour the chocolate slowly into the side of the ice cream maker in a thin ribbon. The dasher will break this up into little pieces = chocolate chips. You can also do what I had to since my ice cream froze quickly… Layer the ice cream into a bowl alternating with the chocolate. Stir each layer to break up the chocolate.

Enjoy!

One thought on “July: National Ice Cream Month: Chocolate Hazelnut Chip Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: BiRite Caramelized Banana Ice Cream | The Lovely Lady Baker

Leave a Reply

