Old Fashioned Vanilla Ice Cream with Salted Caramel

I’ve been pondering what makes vanilla ice cream “old fashioned” and if this recipe is so old, where is the modern version? I haven’t found any answers yet. If you happen to know, do tell. I’ve decided this ice cream is pretty old fashioned. It reminds me of the ice cream my grandpa and I used to churn in the backyard at family get togethers. Truly vanilla and nothing more. The ice cream here is incredibly silky and light and tastes amazing.

I tried a new method like I mentioned in my last post. I started sifting through recipes for ice creams that didn’t use eggs in the custard. I found a bunch of recipes from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams in Colombus Ohio. Her secret ingredient is corn starch. I know you probably just scrunched up your face at the thought of it… but trust me, it is good amazing! I based this ice cream on one of Jeni’s and it will live in my collection forever.

I couldn’t resist making brownies to go with it. I made the same recipe I used to make Chocolate Brownie Ice Cream because once you find a brownie you love, you should keep making it. And to top it off I added Salted Caramel.

I had some extra caramel on hand from an office birthday cake I made recently. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to try making Salted Caramel Ice Cream or just use it as a topping. As you can see I went the topping route. Oh, and for those of you who know me and my bouts with caramel… I actually made this one right the first time! No burnt sugar in this kitchen.

I hope this post has made you super hungry for ice cream. Even though our summer high is 60˚ here in SF, ice cream is abundant in this kitchen. Happy Churning.

Old Fashioned Vanilla Ice Cream

  • 2 C 2% milk
  • 1T + 1tsp corn starch
  • 1 1/2 oz cream cheese room temperature
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 1 1/4 C heavy cream
  • 1 1/2T light corn syrup
  • pinch kosher salt
  • 1 used vanilla bean pod (optional)
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Mix two tablespoons of the milk in a little bowl with the corn starch. Stir until dissolved.

In a medium heavy bottom saucepan, heat the milk, cream, corn syrup, and sugar on high heat until it begins to boil. [You can add the vanilla bean pod for extra flavor if you have one on hand. Note that I said used pod – since this is not vanilla bean ice cream. You can always add the beans from a fresh pod if you wish but you’ll need to alter the amount of vanilla extract to taste.] Simmer for 4-5 minutes and remove from heat. Remove from the heat and stir in the cornstarch mix.

Meanwhile stir the cream cheese in a bowl until soft and mixable.

Return the milk mix back to the burner on medium high heat, until the mix is thick and can coat the back of a spoon. To test this, run your finger down the spoon. If the milk stays separated in a line it is ready. I cooked for another 5 minutes or so. Once done, add a little bit of the milk to the cream cheese and stir. You don’t want the cream cheese to be lumpy which can happen if you put it all in at once. Whisk in the rest of the milk and the salt. Stir over an ice bath until room temperature. Refrigerate for 4 hours, then stir in the vanilla. Churn according to the manufacturers instructions.

Salted Caramel

  • 1/2 C + 2T sugar
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1/4 C heavy cream
  • pinch sea salt

Pour the sugar into a medium size heavy pot. Slowly add the water being careful not to splash or disturb the sugar. Turn the burner on so the flame of the gas touches the outermost edge of the pot without going up the sides. (I learned this method from Richard Festen of Baking Arts when I took a class on French Macarons.) Stir constantly careful not to splash any sugar on the sides of the pan. As soon as little bubbles appear on the edge of the pan stop stirring. Let the sugar continue to boil until it reaches about 285˚F or until it begins to turn dark amber. Turn off the heat and add the cream all at once. Watch out because it will bubble up about 4x its size. Whisk until it decreases in volume about half and add a big pinch of sea salt. Keep stirring until you have a smooth caramel. Pour into a clean dish to cool.

To serve: warm up the caramel to desired consistency and drizzle on anything you want.

Pecan Brownies (link)

3 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Vanilla Ice Cream with Salted Caramel

  1. Pingback: Ice Cream Sundaes and Life Updates | The Lovely Lady Baker

  2. Pingback: Star Spangled Apple Pie | The Lovely Lady Baker

  3. Pingback: Roasted Strawberry Buttermilk Ice Cream | The Lovely Lady Baker

Leave a Reply

