i feel incredibly loved

My husband may be the most thoughtful man on earth. I hope everyone finds a “Michael” if they’re looking for one. He is intelligent, quirky (though mostly behind closed doors), an amazing designer and photographer, and incredibly thoughtful. We are coming up on 10 years of relationship (6+ years of that married). Most things he does for me are very intentional and I appreciate it. Nothing is really done out of habit or expectation, mostly just to show his love for me. And for this, I feel incredibly loved.

Michael once surprised me with a trip to Mexico for my birthday. Not just any trip, but one where we got to rescue sea turtles near the Riviera Nayarit. For those of you who know me well, know that all things are cute and cuddly until proven dangerous or evil. [A hippo for instance would be a lovely pet until it tried to eat me.] He thought I might like to interact with thousands of sea turtle babies and giant moms laying eggs on the beach. An accurate assumption, and one of my favorite trips. This year he managed to surprise me again with one of the best presents ever. Not a big trip, but surrounded by friends around our dining table with good food, wine, and a personal chef. How he and all of my friends managed to keep this secret is beyond comprehension, but I’m glad they did.

Dinner was delicious and I will definitely recommend hiring Chef Spencer if you can. He was born and raised in Oakland and has worked at a number of well known restaurants in San Francisco (Boulevard & Spruce among others). He grows a large portion of the food he serves, and has friends who forage mushrooms and grow chickens and eggs. Farm to Table in the most intimate way. I told Michael recently that one of the things I love most about food is sharing a meal together. I’m pretty sure he stowed this away until this night.

Each course was fantastic. I think I’m a tough critic because Michael and I eat good food frequently. It’s a hobby, really. It’s also really easy to do in San Francisco when you’re surrounded by bountiful produce and small local eateries. Chef Spencer did not disappoint. My only complaint was that I would have liked some color on the chicken (which is literally impossible when you sous vide a chicken). Here is a little tour minus a photo of the first course.

Summer Garden – parsnip & celery root puree, carrots, purple cauliflower, golden beets

Dayboat Scallops – peas – sugar, english & shoots

Carbonara – farm eggs, pecorino, speck, pepper

Morel Cappuccino – truffle froth

Jidori Chicken – sunflower seeds, tawny, wild boar

Candy Bar – Chocolate, salted caramel, peanuts, blue bottle ice cream

Thanks again Michael and friends for a wonderful birthday surprise, and Chef for an amazing birthday dinner!

To see the rest of the diner photos click here.

Chef Spencer’s Contact Info:
Scott Spencer
510.325.8001
spencerspantry.com

Leave a Reply

