Ice Cream Sundaes and Life Updates

It’s been a while since I posted, which usually means life got busy. May was a crazy month! We celebrated Michael’s 30th. Michael’s parents came to visit and we took them on one of our favorite hikes at Stinson Beach, Steep Ravine to Matt Davis loop. We hiked again the next weekend just for fun and exercise near Rodeo Beach in the Marin Headlands. In June, we celebrated our 7 year anniversary with traditional yearly photos and dinner at one of our favorite restaurants in the city, Frances! (try the grilled squid, it’s exquisite). Took two Architecture licensing exams. Played in the water with my nephews. Spent some time in the woods over July 4th weekend with friends. Ran a 10K with a friend. And are currently planning a trip to Europe in September! I’ve been baking intermittently too. A lot of baking doesn’t get photographed though. I do want to take pictures of things, especially the ones I haven’t posted about, but I also bake a lot of things late at night for the next day which leaves little time to take pretty photos.

Michael turns 30

8898458267_c88339264b_c

8928690720_8fdc842284_c

7 Year Anniversary

Heart "Ring of Fire"

jackson

tyler

9234898321_908560ab48_c

This past week, I worked on an Ice Cream Sundae Party Kit that I donated as part of an AIDS Walk fundraiser. Gensler has a very active team of people who help raise money each year for the AIDS walk. There are bake sales and they also host a silent auction of items donated by vendors and people in the firm. They range from something small like my Sundae Party to huge items like a weekend stay in Palm Springs or plane tickets for anywhere in the US. This year they raised over 11,000 from these events.

The lucky winner of my kit requested today for his delivery date. It was so much fun to put together and I really hope they enjoy it! It included a bunch of things I’ve made before. Sometime I try new recipes but I stuck with the tried and true just to be safe! The kit included Chocolate Chocolate chip Ice Cream, Vanilla Ice Cream, dark chocolate brownies, salted caramel sauce, homemade chocolate sauce, cherries, whipped cream, toasted pecans and bananas. Who doesn’t love an ice cream sundae? This would be so fun for a kids party too, and no one says to have to make everything by hand, I’m just crazy. Remember presentation is half the battle. I wrapped each brownie in natural colored waxed paper and the rest went into jars. Red and white bakers twine and labels tied everything together.

sundae kit

Happy Summer!

One thought on “Ice Cream Sundaes and Life Updates

Leave a Reply

