Tartine’s Buttermilk Currant Scones

I received a Tartine cookbook as a gift for my birthday and I just finished reading the whole thing. There are so many amazing recipes to try, I’m excited. I have 30 cookbooks and just over half are baking related (bread, pastry, ice creams etc). I did get rid of a few when we moved from San Francisco to Chicago, but I’m very selective about cookbooks. I don’t feel like I have too many and we actually use all of them. It’s important to have good recipes on hand and cookbooks that you trust. Having the Tartine cookbook is a bit nostalgic too since we lived near the bakery for so long. Same goes for my new Alice Waters cookbook, The Art of Simple Food! I’m looking forward to digging into that one after the baby comes!

batter

Shaped

I recently made Roasted Strawberry Buttermilk Ice Cream, and there was still more buttermilk to use which is why I picked scones. I could have made cornbread or waffles or pancakes but I thought scones would be fun and also an easy breakfast treat for Michael to carry to work. I am also a firm believer that you shouldn’t let food go to waste in your refrigerator. Moving from DINK (double income no kids) status to single income with a baby on the way (I don’t have a good acronym for this one), I’ve been more cautious about spending. It’s silly to waste food! I keep currants on hand at all times because I like them. You can add them to anything that calls for raisins or branch out a little and put them on oatmeal, cereal, and salads. The main reason I have them on hand is because I use them in my carrot cake instead of the traditional raisin. The scones could be adapted to use any dried fruit or even fresh fruits if you have them on hand. I ate the last of our peaches this morning but thought a peach scone sounded divine. I may also have to revisit my cranberry orange scone recipe since I have a giant costco sized bag of cranberries for snacking.

Take a Bite

The scones are rather large when you form them and they bake beautifully, rising taller and getting slightly fatter. Mine cooked in 25 minutes and I couldn’t wait to eat one! Using the paddle attachment on your mixer creates thin wisps of butter that make a really flaky dough. I might try out this dough with less sugar and make biscuits. The possibilities are limitless! I’m pretty excited to keep testing out recipes in this cookbook and really hope I find the time once the baby arrives.

Piled Up

Buttermilk Currant Scones
Makes 12 generous scones

3/4 C zante currants
4 3/4 C flour
1 T baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 C sugar
1 1/4 tsp salt
1 C butter cut into 1/2″ cubes
1 1/2 C buttermilk
1 small lemon zested
melted butter 1-2 T
granular sugar

  •  Preheat the oven to 400˚F
  • In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, add the dry ingredients and mix for a few minutes.
  • In a small bowl, add the currants and pour boiling water to cover. Let stand 10 minutes to plump, then drain.
  • Add the butter to the mixer and beat on low speed until the butter resembles pea sized pieces. It’s better if the butter is non-uniform.
  • Add the buttermilk, currants and zest all at once and mix until the dough just comes together. Use your hand to combine any remaining flour in the base of the bowl and turn out onto a floured work surface.
  • Shape the dough into a 18″ long by 5″ wide by 1 1/2″ high rectangle.
  • Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with sugar.
  • Cut into 12 pieces and place on a greased baking sheet.
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes, until tops are golden brown. Let cool on a wire rack. Tartine says serve immediately but I am freezing half of the batch for later! Scones generally are the best when you first bake them, so consider how many you’ll eat before they get stale!
Leave a Reply

